Singaporean Minute: Four Things to Bring

Though Singapore has shopping centers within 50 feet of wherever you are and a large variety of products, I wish I brought a few things with me.

  1. Sunscreen – I am almost out of sunscreen and sunscreen (if you read my previous post) is a necessity for people who the sun likes to showoff on.  We get it sun, you’re quite powerful.  Prices here are higher for sunscreen than in the States and the EU, so make sure to bring at least two bottles with you if you are staying for more than three weeks, because people will borrow your sunscreen – trust me.
  2. Deodorant – Singapore has a smell, the smell of sweat.  It is especially strong on buses and on the MRT during peak commute times.  There is no shame in sweating, it is a natural process, but it is courteous to smell nice.  I am not saying that I did not bring deodorant, I did.  What I am saying is that if you have a specific brand you like, bring two of them.  If you happen to run out, that’s it.  Unless you use Lady Speed Stick, you will not find your brand here (same goes for hair, facial, and skin products).
  3. Vitamins – If you stay in Singapore for longer than two weeks, you may begin to realize that, if you don’t cook yourself, it is difficult to find a good source of fiber and calcium.  Make sure to take your personal medication and vitamins with you on your travels.
  4. Ghiradelli Triple Chocolate Brownie Mix – This is a personal thing.  My mother told me to bring some and I decided not to.  Remember to always listen to your mother because the things she says are worth their weight in your checked luggage.  Dessert is pricey here in Singapore.  Both cake and ice cream are about 125%~ more expensive.  It makes me miss US$2 cake mixes, Yogurtland, and Kaffeeundkuchen (German coffee-and-cake time).  Bring a brownie or cake mix with you so you don’t have to spend a lot of money on “special occasion” desserts.
Leave a Reply

